Thankful

I was originally going to make my blog post about my pet peeves, but after I thought about it I could not rationalize why I would post about my complaints when I have so many things to be thankful for.

The support of my family and friends has without a doubt guided me through some tough challenges, but ultimately helped me to mature as a man. They have been there when I needed guidance, but have given me the tools to overcome those challenges by myself as well. When I need people to lean on, there has always been someone I could call upon to answer my questions. Whether they have had the same experience or I just needed someone else’s perspective, i have learned so much just by talking through my challenges with family and friends.

Professional Mentors that have given their valuable time to speak with me, knowing full well I can’t give very much back to them. Everyone stresses the importance of networking and making connections, but it is easier said than done. I always struggled with the idea that i could not give much back to a professional, being an undergrad with little experience. Fortunately I have pushed past my insecurities and discomfort to reach out to a few professionals simply asking to chat and learn more about their experience in the industry. Along the way I have found mentors that have gone above and beyond what I would expect anyone to do for me, with nothing given in return. When I asked why, I was simply told to pay it forward. In their lifetime they have had mentors do the same for them and seen how it has propelled their careers.

These are only a couple of items that stick out, but there are more I could reflect upon. If there is one item to take from this post, reflect upon the things you are thankful for and maybe reach out to someone just to say “thank you”.

Leave a comment